Class of 1979

Class of 1979

Class Website Link Class Website

Share your class photos or messages using hashtag #USAFA 1979 on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!

Class of 1979 - Key Data

  • Appointed:1464 on Monday, June 30, 1975
  • Graduated:900 on Wednesday, May 30, 1979
  • Commissions:
  • USAF-883
  • US Army-6
  • US Navy-3
  • US Marine Corps-2
  • Foreign-1
  • Not commissioned-5
  • Graduation Speaker:
  • General Lew Allen, Jr., Chief of Staff US Air Force
  • Presented Commissions:
  • General Lew Allen, Jr., Chief of Staff US Air Force
  • Presented Diplomas:
  • General Lew Allen, Jr., Chief of Staff US Air Force
  • Cadet Wing Commanders:
  • Stephen M. Dickson (Fall) David M. Rhodes (Spring)
  • Scholarships:
  • Rhodes: Jackson, Jeffry A.; Fulbright: Schug, Klaus H.; Guggenheim: Edmonds, David K., Gregory, William G., Grunwald, Scott L., McChesney, Jeffrey A., Rowe, Robert A., Worsowicz, Christopher J.; Wolfe: Bingle, Bruce A.; Hertz: Doyle, William P. Jr., McCasland, William N.; East-West: Drohan, Thomas A.; Olmsted: Rhodes, David M.,Scott, Daniel L., Stephan, Robert B.
  • All-Americans (sports):
  • Reginald Holmes, Ted Dubose (Boxing); Richard Ryan (Pistol)
  • Class Officers:
  • President: Michael F. Van Hoomissen; Scribe: Mike "Trash" Ashley

Class Motto: Mighty Fine

THE AMERICAN FLAGSymbolizes the country which we have all sworn toprotect and serve.

THE CADET CHAPELRepresents guidance to the class, high moral standards, and a strong sense of ethical leadership.

THE MOUNTAINSRepresent the obstacles which the Class of 1979 will face and the strength of each member ofthe class.

"TOUCHED THE FACE OF GOD"Recognizes our anxious anticipation of the mystery and majesty of flight.

THE AIRCRAFTRepresent the new frontiers which will protect the nation's freedom and the ever increasingtechnology of out times.

Contributions of Graduates:

Randall Gricius saves the lives of two men who were in extreme danger of drowning at Ft. Walton Beach, Florida (1983).

William Gregory, Astronaut (1991).

Keith Schultz receives Jabara Award for Airmanship (2005).

Donald (Bud) Vasquez receives  AFCEA Leadership Award (2015).

John Salvador named Chief Operating Officer of the Civil Air Patrol (2016).

Vernon Dale Jones named Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer at Penn State Wilkes-Barre (2017).

Robin Rand named Chief Executive Officer of the Gary Sinise Foundation (2018).

Stephen Frangos named President of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (2019).

Stephen Dickson named head of the Federal Aviation Administration (2019).