Class of 1980

Class of 1980

Class Website Link Class Website

Share your class photos or messages using hashtag #USAFA 1980 on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!

Class of 1980 - Key Data

  • Appointed:1593 on Monday, June 28, 1976
  • Graduated:899 on Wednesday, May 28, 1980
  • Commissions:
  • USAF-888
  • US Army- 2
  • US Navy- 3
  • US Marine Corps-1
  • Foreign- 3
  • Not commissioned- 2
  • Graduation Speaker:
  • Honorable Hans Mark, Secretary of the Air Force
  • Presented Commissions:
  • Honorable Hans Mark, Secretary of the Air Force; Lt Gen Kenn
  • Presented Diplomas:
  • Honorable Hans Mark, Secretary of the Air Force, Lt Gen Kenneth L. Tallman, Superintendent
  • Cadet Wing Commanders:
  • James M. Dunn (Fall); James R. Knowles (Spring)
  • Scholarships:
  • Rhodes Scholar: Miller, Christopher D.; Guggenheim: Brady, Frank H., Ehrenstrom, William A., Glade, David B. II, Lafrombois, Deborah M., Moore, Clyde D. 2nd, Trimboli, Michael Scott, Webb, Steven G.; Olmsted Scholar: Henri J. Bigo; JFK: Graper, Mark W., Miller, Raymond A. Jr.; Hertz: Hept, George B.; Wolfe: Neal, Donald W. Jr.
  • All-Americans (sports):
  • Frederick Sargent (Golf); Robert Strickland, Paul Frappier, Alex Cline, Curtis Lanzel (Boxing); Bonnie Schaefer (Swimming, 5 time); Ginny Caine (Swimming, 4 time); Karen O
  • Class Officers:
  • President: Matt Neuenswander; Vice President: Derek Hess; Treasurer for Gift Fund: Debbie (Dubbe) Gray; Scribe: Don Myers

Class Motto: Strive to Excel

The class of 1980 Ring Committee held a competition to design the class crest for the ring. The class voted on the entries. The winner was our classmate, Tim Gulliver; however, Linda (Garcia) Cubero came-up with the modified motto that was used. Most of what you see are the mandatory elements: class year, falcon, chapel, Polaris star, saber, etc. The crest includes the space shuttle and part of the class motto. The space shuttle is applicable because it was on the horizon for the decade we had just entered. The entire class motto is Strive not to Equal, but to Excel. Although the class joke was to shorten the somewhat long motto to Strive Not; you will note the crest , from Linda's input, has the words, Strive to Excel.

THE SPACE SHUTTLE - Represents a transition from one environment to another. As the Shuttle makes thetransition from Earth to space, we are making a transition from cadet to officer life.

THE CADET CHAPEL - Represents the high moral standards and strong sense of ethical leadership that we willtake with us when we leave the Academy.

THE MOUNTAINS - Represent the goal that the class sought to achieve by the end of the fourth class year.

Contributions of Graduates:

Susan Helms, Astronaut (1991).

William Andrews receives Jabara Award for Airmanship (1991).

Corby Martin receives Jabara Award for Airmanship (1992).

Ali Frohlich receives Jabara Award for Airmanship (1993).

Janet (Libby) Wolfenbarger becomes first female USAF four star General (2012).

Mark Miloscia elected to the Washington State Senate (2014).

Paul Selva named Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff (2015).

John Pray named President and CEO of Operation Homefront (2015).

Janet Wolfenbarger inducted into the Women in Aviation International Pioneer Hall of Fame (2016).

Anthony Aretz named President of the University of Great Falls (2016).

Christopher Miller named inaugural Johnson Chair for the Study of the Profession of Arms (2017).

Mike Hill receives the Patriot Award from the Center for Security Policy (2017).

Susan Helms is inducted into the Colorado Women's Hall of Fame (2018).

Mike Hill elected to the Florida House of Respresentatives(2018).

Mark Miloscia named Executive Director of the Family Policy Institute of Washington State (2019).